Air Travel – Part 3

This is a continuation of a series of posts regarding the challenges presented to those who might wet the bed by the prospect of long haul flights. In previous posts (Part 1 and Part 2) I explained how I would typically bring and wear protection when on a flight where I may be sleeping.

There are some dilemmas and additional concerns to address when considering wearing a diaper on a long haul flight. The first is when to change into the diaper. I have read different opinions on this question, and will share a summary of the major points.

Myself, I change before leaving home (or my hotel). I do this as it allows me the most comfort and privacy when changing. I can make sure everything thing is in place (and not visible) before I leave. Upon arrival at ,y destination, I will duck into the first loo I see and change out of the diaper I’m wearing. If I wake up wet, I will of course change on the plane.

As I’ve said, I bring a spare pair and also baby powder and wipes with me in my carry-on. These I will generally have wrapped up together in a reusable bag which I can carry discreetly to the airplane washroom, under a cardigan for added discretion. I have also taken to bringing my own plastic bag, just in case the garbage in the loo is full.

The other option is of course for you to carry your protection on in your carry-on, and then change before taking your nap. This method has the added benefit of you not having to sit in a diaper for the portion of the flight where you are not planning on napping, and not having to wear a diaper through security.

You can also change in a washroom after clearing security but before boarding your flight. I have done this on occasion as well.

These are all good options and should be considered based on your circumstances. Personally, I prefer the convenience of already having my protection on when I board the flight, and not having to worry about waiting to be airborne to sleep (if I’m planning on sleeping, I try to go for the whole flight or as much as possible). Also, getting to the loo right after takeoff, or right before I want to nap,  may not always be possible, and being constrained by the vicissitudes of meal and drink service are unappealing.

Some are concerned with wearing a diaper through security, and we have all probably seen news stories such as this one (Airport Security Story). I for one have worn protection through security on multiple occasions and never received any trouble from the security people. I’ve had a number of pat downs and not a single agent has noticed or made comment about the protection I was wearing.

I have even worn protection while in one of those body scanners without any additional attention from security. On one occasion, because I was very late for a connecting flight and awoke just as we landed, I wore a rather wet diaper through a body scanner, without incident, or comment from the security people.

If security does take an interest, as I recognise that my experience may not be universal, simply ask to be checked in one of the private screening areas if it is crowded, or if you can, explain that you are wearing a protective undergarment. Why you are wearing protection is none of their business. My prepared line for the possibility of an inquiring security person is to show them a small portion of the waistband and say “I am wearing an absorbent undergarment” using those very clinical terms to deter any further inquiries.

As I mentioned above, I do bring a change with me in my carry-on, and this equally applies to those who plan on changing after security. In this case, you are carrying adult diapers in your carry-on. In my experience these are the most likely to be seen, as random bag checks happen all the time. I had a security person take a rather long time in swabbing my bag one time, and all the while a Mollycare was clearly visible. In this case I simply blushed and carried on, comforted by the fact that they likely see this sort of thing all the time and that I would never see them again.

Ways to make security easier and therefore avoid additional checks entail following all the security protocols:

  • take everything out of your pockets.
  • remove your belt and boots (if relevant).
  • take out your laptop, readers, etc.
  • follow the rules regarding gels and liquids.
  • be polite and friendly to the security people, they are just doing their jobs.
  • and remember, you can always ask to have your bag checked in privacy ( or simply ask the security people to be discreet), and to be searched in private.

I would love to hear other people’s experiences with long haul flights and air travel in general, and I hope you have enjoyed this longer series on the subject.

6 thoughts on “Air Travel – Part 3

  1. Pingback: 4 Things to do to be a Good Hotel Guest (who just happens to wet the bed). – The Bedwetting Traveller

  2. BWC

    I am the kind who sleep almost instantly on an airplane, and have sleep wetting incidents almost every time I sleep. A few tips…
    1) On a short haul flight I’ll wear loose jeans, and add a brief (diaper) in the bathroom after security, but before boarding. Then I’ll just sleep, or not, and deal with the change when I arrive.

    2) On long haul flights, I’ll pack a pair of sweatpants, with a brief inside, in my carry-on. Right when the seatbelt light goes out I’ll go to the lavatory. Changing into the sweatpants (with the hidden brief) gives me an excuse to go to the lav while carrying a package, and again just before we land with the jeans and regular underwear.

    3) Adult snap-crotch bodysuits (aka onesies… see 4cares line, among others) can do wonders in providing peace of mind that the waistband of the diaper isn’t poking above your pants if your shirt crawls up while you’re sleeping. Wear a suitably large (comfortable) one, and everything stays nicely hidden.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good suggestions, I think that changing after security makes the most sense, though there is of course the risk that the diaper might be seen by security inspecting ones bag.

      The bodysuit is a good idea for covering up possibly visible and embarrassing waistbands. There are also a number of clothing options particularly for women which also provide the maximum discretion in covering waistbands (though playsuits are not recommended for air travel as removing them to use the washroom would be a nightmare in a tiny airplane stall.

      Like

  3. BWC

    One more thing… I’ve been rarely, but occasionally, questioned by the TSA. When I was younger I tried being discreet and all mumbly about how I was wearing some protection for some problem on the plane. It always seemed to snowball into a longer conversation, with multiple people digging though my bags and probing my crotch because I was being evasive.

    These days, if there are questions I find a simple clear “I’m wearing a diaper because of incontinence” while staring the TSA agent in the eyes shuts things down quickly, and they have always waved me through with no further issues. It was harder to get the courage to do it the first few times, but the overall exposure and embarrassment is quite a bit less.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Strand Palace Hotel – London – The Bedwetting Traveller

  5. Pingback: Fantastic Bedwetting YouTuber! – The Bedwetting Traveller

Leave a comment